On 1 January 2009, a new municipal division came into force. The former 18 municipalities of Greenland were re-grouped into four municipalities:



Read more about the new municipalities at,, and


See also the Greenlandic National Association of Municipalities at


Overview 1

Greenland Divided Into Four Municipalities

Illustration: Kanukoka